Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University

ASASA Home > Featured Items > Gagarin Medal

Focus on the Collections

Gagarin Medal presented to Jerry Lederer, 1989.

  • Gagarin Medal
  • Gagarin medal - back

The Gagarin Medal was awarded by the Soviet Federation of Cosmonauts to honor individuals who made significant contributions to aviation and space. The award is named for Yuri Gagarin, the first Soviet cosmonaut and first human in space. In 1989, Alexei Koutskov, chief of accident investigation and prevention in the U.S.S.R., presented the medal to Jerry Lederer, who established NASA's Office of Manned Space Flight Safety following the 1967 Apollo launch pad fire and later served as Director of Safety for NASA.

This award, as well as others received by Lederer during his long and prestigious career in aerospace safety, is in the Jerome Lederer Papers in the Archives.